Young Guns 15 Jury Announced


NEW YORK, June 21, 2017 — The One Club for Creativity, the world’s foremost non-profit organization recognizing creative excellence in advertising and design, today announced the jury for the Young Guns 15 program, celebrating international creative professionals age 30 or younger.

Young Guns is the industry’s only international, cross-disciplinary, portfolio-based awards competition that identifies today’s vanguard of young creatives, and is open to both members and nonmembers of The One Club and ADC. Online entries can be submitted at, with a deadline of July 31, 2017, 11:59 pm EST. Entry fee is $100 for The One Club and ADC members, $150 for nonmembers.

About half of this year’s judges are past Young Guns winners themselves. The list of confirmed judges includes the following:

  • Rama Allen, executive creative director, The Mill, New York, NY, USA
  • Jayson Atienza, artist, creative director, Shanghai, China (YG5)
  • Jean Batthany, vice president, global creative, Walt Disney Company, Los Angeles, CA, USA
  • Thierry Blancpain, designer, art director, Informal Inquiry and cofounder, Grilli Type Foundry, New York, NY, USA (YG13)
  • Danilo Boer, executive creative director, BBDO New York, New York, NY, USA (YG7)
  • Jessica Brillhart, principal filmmaker for VR, Google, New York, NY, USA
  • Davor Bruketa, creative director, designer, Bruketa&Žinić OM, Zagreb, Croatia
  • Will Bryant, artist, designer, Austin, Texas, USA (YG11)
  • Cool Hunting, New York, NY, USA
  • Arem Duplessis, creative director, Apple, San Francisco, CA, USA
  • Ioana Filip, executive creative director, MRM//McCann, Bucharest, Romania
  • Chelsea Garber, product design lead, Inamoto & Co., New YOrk, NY, USA
  • Laila Gohar, food designer, New York, NY, USA (YG14)
  • Michael Greenberg, photographer, Brooklyn, NY, USA (YG5)
  • Lisa Hedge, creative director, founder, Venamour, New York, NY, USA (YG11)
  • Lauren Indovina, director, concept artist, writer, Los Angeles, CA, USA (YG11)
  • John Jay, president of global creative, Uniqlo, New York, NY, USA and Tokyo, Japan
  • Natasha Jen, graphic designer, partner, Pentagram, New York, NY, USA (YG4)
  • Joe Johnson, composer, sound designer, New York, NY, USA (YG11)
  • Alexander Kalchev, executive creative director, DDB Paris, Paris, France (YG12)
  • Ahmed Klink, photographer, Sunday Afternoon, New York, NY, USA
  • MaricorMaricar, illustrators, embroiderers, Sydney, Australia (YG10)
  • Nkanyezi Masango, creative director, King James, Cape Town, South Africa
  • Miguel McKelvey, cofounder, chief creative officer, WeWork, New York, NY, USA
  • Debbie Millman, educator, designer, author, Design Matters podcast host, New York, NY, USA
  • Nicholas Misani, designer, letterer, New York, NY, USA (YG12)
  • Jhoana Mora, director, Esquina Norte International Conference, Mexico City, Mexico
  • Terrence Morash, creative director, Shutterstock, New York, NY, USA
  • Moth Studio, animation collective, London, UK (YG12)
  • Danit Peleg, 3D fashion designer, Tel Aviv, Israel (YG14)
  • Hassan Rahim, art director, 12:01, New York, NY, USA (YG14)
  • Seiichi Saito, creative and technical director, Rhizomatiks, Tokyo, Japan
  • Yolanda Santosa, designer, founder, Ferroconcrete, Los Angeles, CA, USA (YG6)
  • Bonnie Seigler, founder, Eight and a Half, New York, NY, USA (YG1)
  • Mirka Laura Severa, photographer, Amsterdam, The Netherlands (YG13)
  • Dan Shapiro, copywriter, Anomaly, New York, NY, USA (YG13)
  • Studio North, designers, builders, Calgary, Alberta, Canada (YG12)
  • Dana Tanamachi, lettering artist, designer, Tanamachi Studio, Seattle, WA, USA (YG9)
  • Alli Truch, creative partner, Biggs & Co., New York, NY, USA (YG2)
  • Stefanie Weigler, designer, cofounder, Triboro, Brooklyn, NY, USA (YG8)
  • Lawrence Zeegen, dean of design, professor of illustration, Ravensbourne, London, UK


“This stellar jury is well qualified to rigorously review a body of professional and personal work from entrants and identify the next generation of creative leaders,” said Michael O’Rourke, executive director, ADC. “Young Guns 15 winners will become part of an elite, career-long global creative community of past YGs who often reconnect over the years to refer work, collaborate on projects and help advance each other’s careers.”

Program details:
Young Guns 15 is open to creatives age 30 and under who have been working for at least two years, full-time or freelance. The competition draws entries from upwards of 70 countries each year, with half of the entries coming from outside the US.

Eligible entrants can submit a combination of professional and personal work in graphic design; advertising art direction and copywriting; architectural, environmental and interior design; industrial and product design; digital (UX/UI, experiential design, interactive, web design, apps, game development): film and animation (motion design, television, video); fashion; typography and lettering; illustration and photography.

All Young Guns 15 winners receive a unique version of the iconic Young Guns Cube, designed exclusively for this year’s incoming class, and have their permanent profile page added to the Young Guns website. Winners also receive a complimentary one-year TOCC membership, permanent membership in Young Guns network, a chance to be featured in Young Guns events and an assortment of career-boosting opportunities from Young Guns sponsors.

This year’s winners will be recognized at the Young Guns 15 celebration and party on November 17, 2017 in New York.

Past Young Guns include then-rising stars who went on to become leaders in their chosen fields, including advertising creatives Rei Inamoto (YG4) and Menno Kluin (YG6); graphic designers James Victore (YG1), Stefan Sagmeister (YG1) and Jessica Walsh (YG8); illustrators Christoph Niemann (YG2) and Deanne Cheuk (YG4); photographers Ryan McGuinness (YG2) and Jeremy Floto/Cassandra Warner (aka floto+warner, YG5); typographers Alex Trochut (YG6) and Gemma O’Brien (YG13); film and video director Mike Mills (YG1), animation artist Todd St. John (YG1) and others.

Established by the Art Directors Club in 1996, this represents the first year Young Guns is part of The One Club for Creativity (TOCC). Formed last fall from the merger of The One Club and ADC, TOCC serves as the umbrella organization for The One Show, ADC Annual Awards, Young Guns, Creative Week, One Screen, Hall of Fame and nearly two dozen other successful global programs that fall under four key pillars: education, inclusion and diversity, professional development and gender equality.

Branding for Young Guns 15 was provided by Roanne Adams (YG9), founder and creative director at RoAndCo, an award-winning creative studio bringing thought, relevance and style to forward-thinking fashion, beauty, technology and lifestyle brands.

Young Guns 15 and other TOCC activities are made possible in part through the generous support of sponsors including Shutterstock and Levine/Leavitt.

For complete details and to enter, please visit


The One Club for Creativity , producer of the prestigious One Show, ADC Annual Awards and Creative Week, is the world’s foremost non-profit organization recognizing creative excellence in advertising and design. The ADC Annual Awards honors the best work in terms of craft, design and innovation across all disciplines, including Advertising, Digital, Design and Motion. Creative Week takes place in New York City every May and is the preeminent festival celebrating the intersection of advertising and the arts.